Essay topics:

Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Government plays a vital roles in every country because all the rules and initiatives to run any country is systemized by them. I believe that government should compromise with public opinion in some specific cases and they must remember that they should not break their rules.

A ruler of any country has a lots of duties to their nations so that they can give every nations a good balanced life. Some rules are very important to maintain to create a healthy environments in society. For example, there are punishments for unsocial works done against our society but sometimes it is seen that some rich and powerful person can deny the rules and break the rules but governments make their path easy to help them. Consequently is this situation government would be discredit by the nations which is shameful for the any ruler and also brings bad situations in society.

Moreover, in some situation governments need to break the norms which was constructed for the countries and definitely it brings good initiatives to every nations. For, example in 1990 drought season in the Chittagong village, people are out of sufficient water storage and they are seeking for pure water. In fact many people got rich for water resources. But when village people offer the governments of the village to use the near water Dam to use as a water source to save their life. Even though using dam was restricted in law of governments , government of that village allowed them to use the Dam as the sources of water storage,. After that decisions, it saves many people lives.

In addition there are many ruler who many times strict to their opinions and also sometimes gave priority on public opinions. For example the father of nation in Bangladesh Bangabandhu Seikh Muzibur Rahman , he always kind to public but he only allowed the people agreements when that was constructive and better for his country. Furthermore, he always was strict ruler when it needs for the betterment of every nations. So he was perfect example of the world for his norms.

In sum, in some special cases a wise ruler strict to his rules which made for the peaceful situation of the society and people should respect that. Again, sometimes it is seen that the same ruler can also take public opinion to make a betterment of our generations. Thus, both cases are good reason for the public in any country.