Every individual in the society has the responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and reject unjust laws.

Write a response in which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement states a sense of responsibility pertaining to the laws, lying in the hands of the individuals. Laws are the audacious weapons to evoke the society for following the correct codes of conduct. In democratic country, government engenders the laws and these are based on the inherent concept of “Of the people, by the people and for the people”. So these laws are for the betterment of the society. There are many political laws prevailing in the country like laws for dealing with the crime, laws for supporting the farmers, laws against the rape cases etc.

The statement attempts to bridge two different scenarios first to obey the just laws and other to disobey and reject the unjust laws. Looking to the introduction, its justified that the people should obey the laws which are created for the betterment of them. On the other hand, the claim to disobey the unjust laws doesn’t seems to be warranted. However, it’s undeniable that the laws applies different to people in different situations. For instance, the traffic rules holds true for the common civilians but those rules pose a threat for the ambulance and fire brigades. Hence, the traffic rules which are for ensuring the safety of the individual so that their life does come to a pause when they are not wearing a helmet and met with an unfortunate accident. At the same time, for saving the life of an individual, if the ambulance or fire brigade breaks such rules that they are not supposed to be guilty for that.

Although the laws are being carried out from the earlier ancient times when they were built but government hearkens to the demands of the people so as to bring the change in the conventions. If the people find some laws to be unjust then instead of just disobeying them and creating commotion and risk in their life. They can put forth their point of views in front of the government through various campaigns or strikes and if these seems to be just then many amendments to the age old laws would be entertained. Like there was a single child law in china to regulate the population expansion which but was later changed by their government looking to the drastic earthquakes which was faced by the country. Similarly, in the early times, the parental property was bequeathed to their son but later this laws was amended so to ensure the egalitarian concept of division of property equally among the sons and daughters. So even if the laws seems to be unjust the government takes appropriate measure to satisfy its people.

Laws inculcates a sense of security and peacefulness in the society. We can never imagine a society in which those miscreants who rape the innocent girls are left unattended or undealt with. This will surely act as a detriment for the society and will not make it a dreadful place to live. Hence, laws are very important element when people of different cultures, values and ethics lives together.

Hence we can conclude that, each and every individual has the duty to follow the laws and consider them as their responsibility for the welfare of the country. They should also raise their voices against unjust laws and if it seems feasible and justifies for a change government should take the appropriate actions for the same. In this way laws will be praised for their existence and will minimally disobeyed.