Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

“A good journey always starts with a good first step.” Lao Tzu coined this quote many years ago and, despite being approximately 2500 year saying, it is very vivid in today's world. The foundation of a well-balanced educations starts with a solid first step. The prompt states that formal education strangles the mind instead of setting it free. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the passage and argue that learning is what motivates us to go further, for three main reasons.

To begin, formal education teaches students character. It is during the scholar period of our lives that we learn about responsibility, discipline, camaraderie, and friendship. These qualities are necessary to become free from the chains of ignorance. For instance, children go to school and start learning how to speak. But the child doesn’t know when it is proper to talk, therefore kids are always chatting and screaming, trying to make their point clear. In school, in parallel with parenting, children are taught about discipline and when to talk. As the children grow older, professors start to challenge them in new ways, with diverse activities and projects that enable them to test and refine their responsibilities. During physical activities, teenagers learn about camaraderie and friendship, especially in team sports where ‘I’ has no place in it. Clearly, schools are a safe environment where students can learn to express themselves and expand their minds.

Further, education helps people acknowledge that what we know is limited. As we start learning new things, our “cup” of knowledge starts to fill up. We can see the cup filling and say to ourselves that either the cup is half full our half empty. The half empty mentality is the real deal, because we are not satisfied with what we have in the cup, we can’t to know more to make the cup filled with information. For instance, a student that finishes his bachelor’s degree has a pretty good understanding of his area of ability. Once he starts his graduate studies, he starts asking more questions for which there are no good answers, and he must, on his own, walk through the dense forest of knowledge to reach the border of knowledge and push a little further to contribute with something. It is for this reason that studying, learning and implementing gives us the freedom to choose the unanswered questions and give our point of view.

Of course, many argue that not everything is taught inside the rigid walls of school. Many life lessons can come from unexpected places, where people might think that there is nothing there. In general, people that live in the country side, mainly farmers, are known to have a limited amount of formal education, but these people have a lot of life lessons that came from struggles in life. Maybe a simple man doesn’t know much about algebra but he sure does know about managing money, cutting wastes and making profit. He may not be the most grandiloquent person in his city but he most certainly knows how to talk to suppliers, how to make deals and how to lure investments.

In conclusion, although school doesn’t have all the answers in the world but it gives people the tools for us to become free and search for answers. The only thing that restrains our mind and spirit is the ‘I give up’ mentality.