The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Some people think that the greate achievement of figures, live in the same country with them, is a better indication of the nation’s greateness than the general walfare. Despite of their assertion, I fully agree with the author’s argument in many grounds.

First, the general welfare is the result of the long-term admistrative policy, otherwise, the achievement of figures are ephemeral that might effect nation shorter than the welfare. The evanescent effect is nothing but flash light which can shine for short-time. North Korea is a great exampler of the adverse general welfare condition. North Korea has a great achievement , nuclear bomb, which give no beneficial effect to country except when it comes to diplomacy. The country is well known of their poor people of nation and abysmal welfare policy. Thus, the welfare of North Korea indicate their nation’s greatness more clearly than their nuclear bomb which is a great achievement.

Second, the general welfare is more fundamental standard than achievement of individual when world assess the nation’s greatness. This is because, without beneficial welfare system their will be less population in a nation and their will be more less chance to the single person. the general welfare could fund their country with various filed of study, it means that the country with great welfare could support their people more than the country with bad welfare policy. It is plausible that some achievements in the world could not see the light if their was no fund from their nations. Moreover, if the achievement which help the nation to stand out in specific field, thanks to the nation’s support, the wolrd would recognize the greateness of the nation by their general welfare, even if the individual make the achievement. The general welfare will represent their nation’s greatness by supporting their people to succeed.

Finally, the greatness of nation could be defined as how happy thier people are, not how the achieved. In the case of South Korea, the past president Kim Dae Jung can be a evidence that the nation’s happiness could be considered as their great welfare system not someone’s acheivement. In 2000, Dae Jung won the Nobel Peace Prize for his affort to fight for the reconcilitory between South and North Korea.

In summary, I agree with the claim that social welfare represent the nation’s greatness better than the figures achievement when I consider of the things I mentioned above.