Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

The above statement makes a claim that government officials should take decisions on their own without considering will of the people.The claim itself cannot be termed as completely appropriate or wrong as often both views of people and officials should come to common grounds on making a decision.Only this can concieve a successful governance.Hence I diagree with the claim and would like to further substantite my view as follows.

people are always considered as important part of development of society.it is their ideas and habits that shape the future of the society for next generations.Therefore,government as a responsible body should consider the welfare of its people.Welfare of people is a very broad term as it encompasses many aspects.Every individual has a different lifestyle and also needs according to it.So government officials need to consider problems of people and provide a platform for them to express their will.Only then,it can be said that government is on right track caring for its people.For instance,India suffers from severe water shortage and most of the lands go deserted and left uncultivated in summer.One solution to this issue was constructing dams over rivers and trasnporting the excess water to these areas.Howver,there are lot of tribes situated at banks of rivers who got affected by construction of large dams.this resulted in tribes relocating to some other place in search of shelter and livelihood.The government officials clearly ignored the problems of tribal people and went against them.Therefore,this example implies that considering the opinion of people should be first priority in making a decision.

Moreover,sometimes government cannot percieve problems of the people.There my be many factors that influence the government to ignore people.Corruption is one of the aspect that is deep rooted in most of the government policies and plans.The greed of money surpasses all other affinities.So most of the government officials tend to be inclined towards minting money rather following their ethics.We already see many scams and scandals sprouted from corruption.

it would be even difficult in countries that are more populated like India and China to ensure transparent and good governance.The problem of large population increases the scope for more being ignored by the govenrment as most of the time resources are not sufficient to cater to needs of the people.Also officials may not have good idea on conditions prevailing in society.After all,society is a diversified place where people from different backgrounds come together.So it is important for government officials to conduct survery and make not of their situation.

To conclude,society is a place where there is space for lot of problems to originate but it is duty of both officials and people together to ensure that they make tenable decisions.