Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is stated in the claim that the government should concentrate on the current problems faced by the people rather than focusing on the solution for future problems. The government should solve the current problem of the people immediately without any delay. Otherwise, the people would suffer and their daily activity would be hampered. It may be required to anticipate the problem and find out the solution. However, what is the use of anticipating the problem and finding the solution without solving the current problems? Further, the anticipated problem would have prabability to occur. What if the problem would not occur? Therefore it is the responsibility of the government to solve the current problem immediately without any delay.

There are many examples in which the gvernment had tried to overlook the solution for the existing problem and figure out the solution of some other issues which would occur in the future. In 2014, Mumbai had faced sever drought in the peak summer. The people of Mumbai had faced problems even to get water for drinking. However, the Mumbai corporation did not find the solution to solve the problem. Instead, they focused on the storm water management for the comming monsoon which would solve the drought if it occur in the near future. Also, they focused on strom management to avoid the inundation of the citty with the predicted heavy rain. However, the corporation should think that what happens if there is enough rain in the mansoon? Moreover, the people of the city seeking the government to solve their water scarcity of the current situation. To respond their need, the government could have arranged water supply from nearby city or near by water body. So, it is important to look for solution to for the current problem rather than anticipating future problems and figure out the solution for that.

In an another example, the government of Kerala has focused on the prevention of Flu virus for the near future rather than providing support to the affected people. Huge population had been affected by the virus near Coachin and the government were reluctant to extent suport to the affected people. However, the government took preventive measure to avoid these kind of endemic diseases in near future. Because of which many people had lost their life. If the government had extended their help then they would have been prevented from the death.

Therefore, for the government the first priority would be solving the current problem of the people for their welfare. It is unlikely to occur the predicted future problem. Hence it is waste of time to work on that rather than solving current issues.