Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Any research involves a lot of factors like sufficient amount of capable people,good amount of knowledge,proper resources and mainly sufficient funding.Sufficient funding is necessary for proper research to go on.However some may argue that government should fund only those projects which have clear outcomes ,whereas some may tell government should fund all projects and must encourage research.If Government fund on research based on consequences of the result then there will be lot of problems.

If government does not funds projects whose consequences are unclear then there will be no motivation to do research among the scientist and other people.There will be not much research as some research projects are huge and involves huge funding and scientist themselves cannot afford to fund such projects,this is why government funding is necessary.But when the government do not fund such projects ,then no scientist will dare to do research or try new things.This will hinder the progress of country which will be very dangerous.

Many projects have unclear consequences.For example consider India’s mission to Mars which was called mission mangalyan.When the mission was designed and planned ,there were some consequences which were not clear like whether the mission will be successful or not and so.But the government encouraged scientist to do research and at the end they were successful in implementing and sending there rocket to mars in first attempt. Like this,there are many cases in which consequences of the results are not clear but this does not mean that government should not fund in such projects.Sometimes the result may come as we desire and sometimes it may not but if the government don’t encourage such things then the country may lack with respect to other countries in terms of trying and implementing new things.

Though there are some advantages if government does funding based on consequences of the result like they may save money spent on unnecessary projects ,save time of the people working under it and so.But following such practice depends on situation and it may not hold true In all cases.If suppose a country’s economy is weak and they are not having sufficient amount of money to do research,then in such cases if the government fund the projects based on the results it seems plausible as they can invest on right projects and save money .If we consider another scenario where country have good economy and having sufficient amount of funds and here investing the projects based on consequences may not be logical.

In addition to all the points discussed,for a country to grow and prosper it is necessary that government funds the project which attracts and motivate people to do more research ,try new things which may have lot of advantages to society.On the other hand if the government do not do so and do funding based on consequences ,it may benefit only countries with weak economies and not to all countries.