To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Society is determined by the people,their culture and the attitude they follow.A good society is one where all its people are treated with love and care ,all have mutual respect among each other and there is no hatred among people all are treated with same respect and dignity and also there are no evil practices followed among them.Society can become good if there are good people and vice-versa.Area of living do play a major role in determining type of society.To understand the important characterisitic of society, I don’t think by studying only major cities will give us all details about it.

You cannot determine important characterisitic just by studying important or major cities.Of course major cities do play important role in determining society but not all characteristics are determined by them.For example there may be few traditions which are followed in particular area not in all major areas.So if we study only major cities or areas we cannot determine all the important characteristics of that area.

Let us consider an example.Agriculture is very important sector.Farmers do a lot of hardwork for maintenance of crops.Thus farming is very important for society as well.When you consider farming in cities you cannot determine its importance.Like no one does farming in cities it is generally done in villages.So by studying only cities you cannot determine all the important characteristic of society.

There are certain customs or practices which are important to a particular society or particular area.Same may not be the case in other area.In one area if one thing is important then in other area that thing may or may not be important.Let us consider festivals also.In India there are many states and many cities .Consider festival Navratri.It is most popular in cities like Ahmedabad,Surat in Gujarat state but if you consider a state in Jammu Kashmir named Srinagar it is not that popular or it is not that celebrated .

Hence in determining any characteristic of society it is important to study all the factors and all the beliefs in an area then only you can determine its importance.Whole area should be taken into consideration not a particular area .By studying a particular area you may determine the characteristic of society of that area not as of whole.Thus we cannot say that to understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study only its major cities.