Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education plays a vital role in life of each and every individual.It is the process of learning and acquiring new things.Educational institutes play a very important role in development of student’s life.They must guide students and help them whenever any student faces difficulty.However,I don’t think any educational institute must dissuade students from pursuing any field in which they are unlikely to succeed unless and until they are sure or confirmed that the student cannot do well in that respective field.

It is common perception of many students to pursue their field of interest depending on the marks they scored in schools or so.However it is incorrect.Many students and teachers believe that if a student is not doing well in a particular subject or not scoring marks then he/she may not succeed In that field and thus do not motivate them to pursue education or establish carrier in that area.It is incorrect ,you can see many individuals who were not good in their academics but still have mastered in their respective fields.For example consider inventor of bulb ,Thomas Edison.He was not at all good in his school and was very weak in academics.He never used to score good marks in science and other subjects .His teachers were not at all happy with him and used to scold him and said he cannot do anything in his life.Thus, he was forced to quit the school.But however he later invented the greatest discovery in the history of science –Light Bulb.

It was his passion and interest to do something and that brought him success in his life.If he had taken the words of his teacher seriously ,then he would have not invented the light bulb. It is the responsibility of a teacher to identify the strength and weakness of the students and hence guide them in proper manner.If at all a student is not good in any area,then he must be trained in proper manner so that he can be perfect.Some may argue that making student trained in an area his waste of time and instead they can train him in the area where he/she is good.This is true but cannot be implemented directly.A proper research must be done on student before implementing such decision.If on repeated efforts also ,a student is unable to do well then only the teachers or the institute must dissuade them from pursuing that field if not they must try to improve his techniques.

Proper research can be done by analyzing the student,making him expose to real world,by conducting aptitude test and by speaking directly to student to find by which field he gets fascinated.If a student is unable to do well despite various attempts and if it is confirmed that he/she is not interested in that field then only he must be dissuaded from pursuing that field.If not ,they must try to establish interest and train him proper so that he can develop interest and do well in future in that respective field.