The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author’s argument that prohibiting skateboarding in central plaza will restore its business like before appears to be plausible in first sight.However on deeper analysis we find that more evidence is needed in order to ensure that prohibiting skateboarding will restore profits.There may be many reasons due to which central plaza has experienced decline in its profits and these must be examined .

Firstly it must examine ,how much decrease in the profit has occurred.It must consider ,what were the number of shoppers before skateboarding and what are the number of shoppers after skateboarding.There may be possibility that the number of shoppers in skateboarding were not much in prior to skateboarding.If this is the case then prohibiting skateboarding may not lead to profits.Also ,How much loss has occurred this must also be evaluated.If there is not much decrease in the profits or the business was already not that profitable then ,prohibiting skateboarding does not seem plausible.

Secondly they must examine why is that the public is inclined towards skateboarding.What is that thing, which attracts public to skateboarding and not to central plaza.There may be possibility that people find skateboarding more fascinating than any other thing or it has much better marketing than central plaza and public is more attracted towards there.This must be considered.If people find skateboarding more fascinating than shopping in central plaza, then if at all the skateboarding is banned or prohibited they may not see any increase in profit.

In addition to that ,taste of public must also be measured.Do people still like shopping in central plaza or not must be determined.This can be one through surveys and opinions of public.They must consider if there are any faults in their style of business like they may not marketing their things properly or people are not aware of their shops or the prices of the goods In this shops are high and many of them do not prefer to buy.Skateboarding may be cheap than the products in central plaza.In addition to all these things, they must also consider things which public wants is it readily available in their shops or not.

Thus the points mentioned in the above passages must be carefully considered before making any decision.If they find that by invention of skateboard there profits have declined very rapidly or the products which public want are not readily available or people are not inclined towards central plaza, then prohibiting skateboarding may not lead be any profitable to them.