The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that reducing the number of mopeds leads to lesser accidents appears to be plausible in the first sight.However on deeper analysis we find that it does not depend only on one factor,they are several other factors also which are to be considered along with this factor that helps us in deciding whether by reducing the number of mopeds will leads to lesser accidents or not.

First of all it tells that reducing the number of mopeds will leads to lesser accidents in the town.However one cannot assume it to be true and blindly and follow it ,other factors must also be considered.Like for example by reducing the number of mopeds then lesser mopeds will transport the huge problem,this may leads to reduction in number of people visiting the town .When few mopeds are available they may drive more recklessly or they may drive in hurry to transport people from one area to other and this may also leads to accidents.

Also reducing the number of mopeds will not guarantee that there will be no more accidents or this will leads to lesser accidents.For example If people drive carelessly and if pedestrians also do not cooperate then still there will be chances of accidents.If people do not follow safety rules or drive without precaution then no matter how many vehicles you increase or decrease there will be chances of accidents.Thus following of safety rules and proper amendment of them is absolutely necessary.

Also nothing it is not sure that only by reducing the number of rentals the neighbouring town of Seaville achieved reduction in accidents by 50%.There can be other factors also which contributed to reduction in accidents.Like for example there may be more strict rules than in the present town or there is more heavy penalty in breaking the law and so on.May be there is not that much amount of people who visit this town than the town Seaville.It is not clearly given that only by reducing the number of mopeds hired leads to lesser accidents.You cannot tell if a thing is successful in one area it will also be successful in the other area.

Things may be completely different in one area than in other.Comparison of two things can only happen if all the other external factors are same for both of them.Also it would be wise to think that along with the reduction in number of mopeds, traffic rules are also followed equally and there is a strict and correct implementation of traffic rules.Hence the other factors which are discussed in above passage must also be considered In evaluating whether reducing the number of mopeds will leads to lesser accidents.