The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author of this issue seems to have no hesitation to establish relationship between greatness of individuals and successor's evaluation. Admittedly, accurate appraisal for greatness of the individuals could be achieved by predecessors in certain fields. Before generalizing such conclusion to all of fields, we need to consider different circumstances, in which evaluation for greatness is more likely to vary.

To start off, in the field of the art, I have to reserve my approval for the issue, because values for artworks doesn't relies on later appraisal. To measure greatness of individual, we only have to evaluate his/her artwork in regard to contemporary affirmation or discredit. Once certain characteristics are confirmed, this accomplishment already occupied certain position on historical stage. Whatever ensuing commentaries emerge, the unparalleled value of such artwork in its own era can't be repudiated. For instance, Mark Twain's brilliant reputation gained from the novel, The adventure of Tom Sawyer, received wide approbation in 19th century. Despite the fact that today's critics might belittle with his cynic, none could decline his significant position in the literature of 19th century.

However, when turning to science, the situation is appallingly different. When it comes to science, frankly speaking, I disagree with the viewpoint of issue. To be specific, deciding whether a scientist could be titled as greatness is not through positive evaluation from his coevals, but through more thorough appraisal from ensuing successors. Because in most cases greatness of scientists relies on the validation of his research outgrowths, but such validation need to withstand various challenges before established. And normally it is this process which is unlikely to be completed during the lifetime of the author. A case in a point is Einstein's bias against Quantum mechanics, which finally is toppled over by current verification. During his lifetime, Einstein stick to his latent variable model, which believes that the probabilistic essence of Quantum theory comes out of inadequacy from oversimplified theorical model. However, after years of experiments and concomitantly meticulous analysis of results, physicists discovered that lots of facts endorsed probabilistic model of Quantum theory rather than Einstein’s. As brilliant as Einstein, it still requires so long time of verification, let alone other cases.

Last but not least, if switching our focus to the business world, the aforementioned conclusion become more subtle: in some cases great accomplishment could be recognizable immediately, while others might not. The root reason is that business meld both practice and theory. While practice could somehow be verified to yield positive or negative conclusion, theories are incapable of being confirmed in a short duration. For supporting example, we can resort to two business giants: Henry Ford and Bill Gates. Henry Ford invented assembly-line approach in automobile industry, but even he himself couldn't validate the effectiveness, since some hypothesis in his theory couldn't be fulfilled in practice and have to be postponed to the future. However, Bill Gate's great contribution to software industry has been concreted by Windows operation system and versatile software systems. None could decry his greatness, since it is through his incessant effort that Microsoft could relentlessly renew its operation system and equip it in millions of personal computers. Those truths have already been carved into stone.

In summary, how to effectively evaluate individuals in different fields hinges on their specific domain and immanent attributes/properties of their work. As mentioned above, circumstances in the art, science or business world, change drastically. Therefore, it is better for us to adapt a case by case strategy, rather than merely depending on assessment from the successors.