It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt urges that the cultural tradition of a nation is preserved and generated in cities of that nation. For some obvious reasons I would like to be "mostly disagree" with the given concept and therefore obliged to provide necessary viewpoints in defense of my position.

The preservation of the cultural heritage and tradition of a nation simply means to maintain that custom. Maintaining a cultural tradition and heritage occupies that the tradition is not dead yet. In this circumstances - the cities of a nation will hardly have the priviledge to continue the tradition. Normally, the cities of a nation are the ones which have been developed over the years and got priority in regards of modernization compared to the villages and subburbs. As a result, people from different parts of the nation and also from its neighbouring countries accumulate in those cities in search of their furtune. Because of mixture of various types of people - coming from different culture, the purity of a certain culture or a tradition is hampered. Consequently, the feature which is so pure of particular nation becomes obsolated. Even because of the modernization in the cities, people from different parts and cities mix with one another and influence each other habit, tradition and as a result there is good chance of interchange of culture and tradition among the intercity people. It causes even the very own proprietories of a city to dissolve and ultimately influenced by multiculture.

Another prospect of this feature in the city is the trade-off between modernization and cultural customes. As more and more families are coming into cities of a nation for better earning and leading a better live, people are choosing the ways which are more convinient to them. They are leaving the customs that are practiced by their ancestors for years and choosing the modern livelihood as they do not have enough scope but meet the requirements of the modernized society. For example - people who are living more in suburbs and villages are more tend to believe in various cultures and rituals that the modernized people of cities might not believe. Although, the rituals and cultures are the very own of both of those people still one part ignores those fully because of going with the flow of the civilized city people. Arguebly, the number of these civilized people are greater in cities and less in villages or other subburbs. Because of the imbalance in the number of customary and modernized city goers the cultural discrepency is also evident in the cities and obviously the lack of heritage is also absent. As a result, the cities are getting more devoid of the cultural customes once praticed largely among the people.

However, even though the cultural tradition is practiced less among the city dwellers, it still can preserve it in many ways. For example - as the city is more economically affluent than the villages and also have greater capacity - that is why authoritative steps can be taken to improve the customes and not leeting these to be outmoded. For example - the respective authority of the city can make some markets based on the cultural trades and cosmetics to exhibit those among the city people. They can also make some restaurants and other recreational places where the guests are served in their very own traditional manner. Also, they can make certain palces in the cities where they can cherish the city people and also the foreigner by introducing them with many cultural heritage that once practiced in the countries. Exhibition of their heritages and ancestory pride in the cities will also help them to get monetary value which can be further invested to derive many more obsolated culture. In this respect - city holds enough ability to maintain the cultural flow of its nation by incorporating various constructions and good investments which may not be feasible in other parts of the nation.

So, looking at all the points and views mentioned in the essay, it can be said that - although cities are obsolating the cultural norms and traditions of its nation, still it does posses the ability to relieve those traditions, only if proper investments and steps are taken to maintain this successfully by the authority.