It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is popularly believed that nation' mores and traditions are generated and preserved in cities and towns. As far as I am concerned the importance of urban areas for development of mankind is unquestionable, it mainly create new culture but not preserve it. The characteristics, which allow cities and towns to be a melting pot which generate our future, do not allow the traditions to be the same.

First of all, great cities and towns generate new culture due to their inherent facets such as that many people, who have different background, adhere to discerned religions and cultures, have to coexist and interact with each other owing to the fact that they are limited by space of town. One of such a great melting pot is New York. It is a place where Buddhists, Muslims, Christians who were born in different countries have to learn from each other and accept each other. These interaction between different cultures and nationalities generate a new cosmopolitan culture.

Moreover, it is mistaken to think that urban areas impact only on foreign cultures, traditions and mores of a nation have changed in the cities and towns as well due to the fact that conditions and circumstances of living and working differ in rural areas and in the urban ones. One of the most striking examples of such change is role male and female in family. A traditional family live in the country side and their work was connected with farming, a low level of mechanisation led to separation of family roles. A male who has more physical power which is important and crucial for farming worked in fields to plow the soil and plant wheat. A female in this context created a comfort for life and educated children. However, these roles have become obsolete when families started to live in urban areas. Work in megalopolises requires from employees to have certain skills and knowledge rather than rude physical power. Consequently, women as well as men were able to participate to working process. Since than a tradition separation of roles has started changing.

One may ask but what about mores and traditions where they are preserved? The answer is simple, removed and rural areas where life-style is still preserved and outside impact is minimal due to the fact that outsider rarely visit them. For instance, recently Russian sociologists have reported that their journey to a removed area which is located in Sibirea reveals traditions of Russian people before they were baptized in the X century.

In conclusion, despite the fact that some people deeply believe that cities and towns are place where new traditions are created and the old ones are preserved, we have demonstrated that this is almost impossible due to characteristics of urban ares. New cosmopolitan culture is in fact created in the towns and cities but tradions and mores are preserved in rural and removed areas where they are not exposed to external impact.