It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Man is a social animal. Being a social animal the man has to have the knowledge of which social group he does belong in the society. Identifying the social group to which a man has to assimilate requires some knowledge, which has to be taught to every human from the childhood. This will help the man to identify himself through the social group.

Firstly, identifying oneself comes from identifying ones behavior. As there is a saying "Birds of same kind flock together", a man as he gains knowledge step by step he will come to know himself and to which social group he or she belong to. To take a simple example, when a child is born, the child will be knowing only his or her parents. So, the child's social group is him or her and his or her parents. As the child grows, the child's social group also mushrooms. The child will develop the behavior with the eclectic knowledge around him or her. By developing such an idiosyncratic behavior, the child starts identifying the social group to which he or she will belong.

The man's environment also has it own impact on ones behavior. For instance, in the corporate companies, if the company rules lax, then the employees also show reluctance to work and will not complete the work in time. Those are the behavior of loath social group, which will try to stay with the people of such behavior. In contrast, the company which is having strict work environments, giving strict deadline to complete the work, the employees also will try to complete the work with hard work and will be noted for such remarkable work. Of course it can also be said that the humans are adaptable in nature and hence it is easy to mold oneself to the make one identify in the social group to which he or she belong.

One more negative example can be given to corroborate that the environment also have an impact on the person's behavior. There are some negative example, where in which the external force make one to join the social group to which one is not willing or is not intended to. For example, some children without proper guidance from the parents, may be because the child is orphan or is not properly reared by the parents, will start doing wrong things like steeling, lying and other misconducts. As the child grows, the person may turn notorious and can join the miscreants gangs which do all such bad things.

Apart from previous paragraphs, which stressed that the identification of oneself through the social groups, identifying ones talent, which is found rarely sometimes in a group is also equally important. Those talents has to be brought to light and has to be encouraged, even though such talents are rarely seen in groups. Talent also helps in identifying oneself.

Thus, in total, I believe that ones identification can be made through the social groups. But having said that I would like to give equal weight to ones talent which even though make the man separate from the social group in some aspects, but at the same time it will help to identify oneself.