It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement

and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position,

you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these

considerations shape your position.

There have been many ongoing debate whether the society we live will define ourselves or not.The author of the statement asserts that a person define themselves by the identification with social groups. There is a term called "Social Animals" which refers to us "The Humans", and moreover a society defines the way how a person should behave and live. I strongly support the author's statement for the following reasons.

To begin, People live in a society that is nothing but a group of people who accepts to live by a unified norms in terms of culture, traditions, mentality to name a few. Thus a

person on choosing a society will define his day to day chores and if not he will be ousted out of the society he lives in. Consider the country which has a law that punishes those who throws garbage onto the streets for example, A person living in those country should adhere to the law of not throwing the trash onto the streets unless until he wants to be punished by the society. The Punishment may involve jail terms which implicitly means that he is being ousted out of the society temporarily. Thus this example shows us that a person who chooses a society should concord to the norms of the society in order to be in the society.

Furthermore, A society we live, will implicitly have its own impact on one's without their conscience. There is a old famous saying that goes "Birds of same feather flocks together" which says people of same team behave in unison. Consider a group of friends for example, if the group has 5 friends, out of which 4 members loves going out and are extroverts, A person joining the 5th member of the group as an introvert will surely have the effects of other extroverts in the group and the behavior of the introvert will at least change a bit towards being open and extrovert. This shows that a society we live in will at least unconsciously, if not consciously have its impact on defining our attitudes and behaviors.

Some may argue by asserting that a person with strong determined will, surely would not change his behavior inspite of how the society impacts individually. According to this view, If a person who eat processed food alone lives in jungle, despite of how hungry he is, he would still not eat anything other than processed food. This is not so true unless he would like to waste his life. In essence A society determines the individual's behavior either consciously or unconsciously and it is the responsibility of an individual to choose his/her society wisely otherwise they would find themselves chisled and restructured by the norms of a society.