Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Author’s claim “Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, time, and place”, in my opinion depends on the law. Laws are made so that it can allow people to behave in order and to maintain harmony and peace among people as well as nation. Some might argue that laws should be firm to bring some effectiveness as people in current scenario because of greed take several illicit action and not changing laws in order to remain in power might call forth more corruption in nation, whereas change is constant and laws which were made in past might not hold any worth today, thus amendments needed to made according to changes.

Laws needed to be stringent as many laws are set up by international bodies and every country need to abide with those laws. Consider and example, laws regarding the use of nuclear power should be followed by each and every country to assert harmony and peace among country as nuclear power can cause great destruction. We have example of Japan in world war II at our disposition. Due to use of atomic bomb, japan had faced severe destruction. Thus there are several laws that should not be flexible enough and each and every body need to follow it.

Not only international laws, there are certain other laws which should not be amended in lest of losing of powers. India is trying very hard to become a developed country but in my opinion what occludes India is corruption. In order to satiate the greed, people uses wrong means to achieve their goals and official body also became complicit in such action in order to be in power. Thus, changing laws in order to be in power, might generate spite among people and might further polarizes people in two group: rich and poor. Thus, laws to be enforced equally to each and every person to maintain unity.

However, Change is constant and laws made in past might contradict the current situation, in such case amendments of law needed to be made. Consider for example, in past homosexuality was considered as taboo, whereas in current scenario, people are being open to talk about such issues and people are accepting it. Consider another example, In past government had restricted merchants to free trading in order to uplift the small-scale industry and public sector. This laws might not hold valid today.

In wrapping up, Law behavior depends on the type of laws, there are certain laws that should not be flexible as to ascertain code of conduct of nations, whereas due to change in current situation, some laws needed to be amended to maintain peace and harmony in nation.