The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Present generation is gifted with immense luxury when we compare with the earlier time. As now, people can get all the things they want at their footstep, starting from food delivery to personal cabs, to home tutor and the list goes on. They will never know the struggle that the older generation went through for the most trivial things. However, while doing so, the past generation learnt the value of things, as they were not at ease to get, which helped them to strive hard for their living to become strong and independent individuals. As everything is at their disposal now, these luxuries frustrate the current generation to thrive for the same. Hence, I agree with the given claim.

First of all, things have become so accessible now, people just don’t want to work for it. For an instance, the children of the present are now provided with cell phones even before they turn ten. Not just cell phone, but whatever they ask for like costly video game, food of their choice, luxuries of personal vehicle while commuting that they hardly realize that these come at a price which is earned by toiling day and night. On the other hand, in the before times, children had to travel long distances to study or stay in Gurukul or boarding school. They hardly had any such privilege which drove their motivation of achieving the inaccessible. But, now the kids lack this kind of motivation.

Adding to the previous paragraph, freed from any household chores like cooking, cleaning or washing their own clothes, the children of current generation are coddled and pampered way too much. Once they go out of the house, they feel home sick and are mostly unable to adjust. I have personally seen so many children to not pursue studies outside their home town because they are home sick or incapable of adjusting to the outside world. Had these children not treated with so much delicacy, they would have learnt to manage themselves from the childhood and had not missed such an amazing experience of staying independently. I have even seen so many kids, from college, who can’t even fill an application form, drive or cook a meal for themselves.

It is true that, in most of the cases, all these conveniences make people handicap of doing any thing on their own, it is also undeniable that these conveniences can enable individuals to transcend the impossible if these same luxuries are used in a good way. For example, computers, smart phones or internet connection has enabled individuals to do their personal works in few minutes, be it their bank work, tax filing or even sharing documents with their peers for knowledge, without asking for help or depending on others to do it for them unlike in earlier time, where people had to go to post office for sharing any document or hire a CA for filing their tax returns.

Hence, in summary, current world conveniences have enabled individuals to do their work on their own if these conveniences are used for development. But at the same time, if we just keep depending on them and become crutched in absence of these luxuries, then the same luxury can impede our growth and thwart us to become independent and strong.