The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

How a person gets develop his strength and resourcefulness is contingent on the environment in which he is born and raised. Thus, harder the environment for life, more the strength of a person. Consequently, if same person is treated with excessive indulgence during his rearing, his abilities would have not been matured or fully developed. The issue of hardships and luxuries is important in a society because the reason for some people being strong while others being weak is rest on the conditions he has lived through. While, there is no reservation that hardships often provides the conducive environment for someone to develop his strengths, there is a reason to believe that in fields like sports where the talents and skills of a sportsman are independent of the environment he was born into, for reaching to the pinnacle, he has to work diligently without being tired out, that is, he has to go through hardships.

However true it may be the case that some fields do not get influenced by the luxuries or convenience provided to someone in life, the field of theatre, drama and acting are such where inherent talents remain subdued because of the lack of fatigue and sufferings in life. The life style of famous actors is such that their offspring get accustomed to abundant wealth and stardom and often resisting advice and suggestion to improve. And even during the time when these children attend schools for arts and theatre, their reckless attitude prevent them from learning the nuances of drama. For example, the life of Mr. Abhishek during 1985 to 2006 was full of money, lavishness and innumerable sycophants that he was sure of his success in Bollywood as of his father, who is Mr. Amitabh. He flunked the schools and dismiss all lessons and suggestions given to him for a career in acting. The result was not surprising that all of his movies were not successful since he was lacking in on stage drama and even critics written that he is not the 20 per cent of his father. Finally, he had to quit his acting career. Therefore, the excessive indulgence given during the learning phase of a child prevents a child from honing his talents.

One argument that supports the idea that luxuries do not influence the development of a strong individual is that fields like politics where voters scorn at luxuries provided to a child of a politician, has to train himself by going through mandatory hardships in order to step into his father shoes. The life of a political leader is such that he provides all possible luxuries to his offspring in terms of private access to expensive clubs, admission to a top college, exemption from general rules and personal security. However, the voters sneer at such extravagance provided to a child, thus, starts loathing the child from his early age. For example, the life of Rahul Gandhi, who is the son of former Prime Minister of India and whose previous three generations have ruled India for more than 7 decades, had to suffer the hardships of tiring election campaigning and incessant critical argument for being born in super rich family. For the period 2014 to 2019, he had to live his life by sacrificing all comforts of life in order to win hearts of the voters to show that he is compassionate and ready to serve them. Despite all these, he suffered the loss in elections. Therefore, the field of politics is such where luxuries and convenience push the boundaries of a political aspirant to prove himself.

Another reason that buttresses the thought of luxuries encourages someone to work even harder in order to make up to the luxuries or to prove that he is worthy. The field of cricket is such where all luxuries provided during the early stage of life often urge the child to be mettlesome and overcome the expectations of general public since public by inherent nature often assumes that child of a famous and skilled cricketer will even be better than his predecessor, thus luxuries put the child under extreme pressure to live up to their expectations. For example, the child of Mr. Tendulkar, who is recognised as God of Cricket, was provided all forms of luxury such as cricket coaches were hired from abroad to train him and buying a large place simulating the cricket ground for practice and the use of expensive computer technology to spar batting shots. However, the expectations of public were insurmountable that his score of 100 in his first match was not applauded by them and in the same match, his 3 catches were not noticeable since public was expecting him to score at least 200 in order to serve the name of his father. Thus, luxuries given to a child of famous sportsman often proved baneful and put him under unnecessary burden to perform.

While concluding, as it be seen from the above paragraphs that although luxuries prevents the child of famous actor from developing his skills and talents and be strong, the same luxuries often push the boundaries of a child of famous sportsman and politician where career does depend on the reputation of the father of a child. Therefore, the field, the person wishes to join for his career decides if luxuries would prevent him or push him for development of an individual entity.