Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Mass media Internet has made the world more simple by giving unlimited information on whichever topic one wants to find. Some people who while surfing internet finds some other topic fascinating which leads to change in the interest of that person. But asserting that it causes everyone's attention span to get shorter is not true. It depends from person to person.

Some people love the work they do. They enjoy finding more about the topic they find interesting and so they use internet to Explore stuff which they like without getting distracted. They want to have a keen insight about their vocation and thus they surf internet to find as much information as they want. yes, they find other topics on internet while surfing through the topic they want but no, they don't get distracted. physics is a subject which is very vast and more you try to find the stuff more it becomes complicated and interesting. A physicist will never get distracted when he is searching for a information on any topic of physics and will want to find more on that topic.

yes, some people while exploring their interests may come across something which they find interesting and divert their attention towards that topic not only once but many times until they find what they really like and then stick to it. Now a days students after completing their Engineering work for finance or consultancy and find it more interesting because on the course on engineering they realize their interest lies withing management than technology. some people like a famous personality is sidharth malhotra, despite doing engineering from a well known college in India is now is Bollywood actor. There are many such famous personalities who have change their vocation due to their interest in some other field and this is due to the mass media and internet which influence such choices.

In the end, I would like to say that yes, mass media and internet has shorten the lifespan of some individuals but there are many people who love their due to any other external source. at the end it is people's choice to choose what they want to do. If they like what they do they won't get distracted but if they don't find their work interesting they will get fumble and find other stuff which interests them which is good.