Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

our civilization is in a wonderfull phaze of its development, we call it "diigital era". The specific sign of it is information,which is now everywhere and nowhere at the same time. How could it be, one may ask. The answer is it is because of the internet. The speaker argues that mass media and the internet have caused people's attention spans to get shorter, but on the other hand we are able to sort through large quantities of information and to find what's important for us. I would agree with this claim and will try to cover it in my essay.

To begin with, lets talk about mass media and the internet, to understand what it is and why it is called digital technologies. mass media started a little bit earlier than the internet in the beginning of the 20's century with the mass production of tv sets. Future historics would say that it were a golden days for commercial, news and movies. At that time before the beginning of the internet we didn't have a chance to choose what information to choose. you believed everything that was coming from the tv screens. Nowadays everything have changed, because we have a wonderfull technlogy , which is called "internet". what is internet who controls it, one might ask. The simpliest answer on this quastion, internet is everywhere, nobody controls it, that is why we now can opt what information to read, watch or to believe. The internet is global, with the help of it we can see what is going on on the entire planet. If we compare two technologies like tv and the internet it is more like mononews and multinews.

why it has become harder for us humans to focus our attention on one thing, than it was before. The answer is simple enough, our brain tries to protect itself of a huge ammount of information that is coming to it. it's like a self-defence mechanism of our brain. Remember yourself, trying to find something uselful on the internet. sometimes it could be easy, but sometimes you could spent hours searching for something without a result. why is that? this is because the internet is full of junk and sometime useless gigabytes of data. Hence, our brain has developed a so called smart filter to opt what information to keep or not. that thing is helping it to jump through hundreds of web sites per day and to stay in a good fit.

To summarize, i would like to say that indeed our focus and concentration has become worse, we still able to cycle through large ammount of data and to find important information for us.