Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author's claim on the mass media influence on the the peoples' attentions and the reason claimed for the statement made is totally agreeable. Today a knowledge of an outer world or the society is obtained only be the mass media and internet. Hence there is a greater influence of such mass media and the internet on the people in drawing their attention. Due to the easier access of these internet, news, mass media, there are apparently greater amount information in each and every filed and this may make the peoples' attention shorter across such news abundance. Hence as per the author's claim, that even the mass media is influencing the people, its effect are positive can be accepted.

Firstly, in the contemporary world, with the advancement of the technologies, the number of crime factors are also increasing day by day. All crimes are being done in its own inimitable way such that it is also becoming harder to find out the truth behind that crime. Sometimes, these crimes are rhetorically said by these mass media people will have an adverse effect on the peoples' mind. But, however, with the increase in such crime news, there is also substantial increase in the other fields such as entertainment, sports, music and other fields. The people will always wish to watch and listen things that are soothing to the mind and body and that is the natural human tendency. Hence, with this eclectic information, the peoples' attention can be spread across all the fields and the interest can also be spanned.

Secondly, internet can be called as the second face of the mass media. The internet has all sorts of news such as crimes, entertainments, music, learning, philosophy and what not?. I believe that many people will have different will have their interests in many fields where in which the internet is helping them to enhance their knowledge. However, as said in the previous paragraph, due to the fact, that the knowledge can be drawn from different sources, the attentions are spanned across and is fortunately, still having the positive effects on the people.

Although, in the previous paragraphs it is been said that through the mass media and the internet, though people are having the positive effect, the negative effects that it is having is insidious. When a person is watching a crime news in the media or in the internet, he or she will not understand the negative thoughts that are running in their minds, which may turn them a negative person someday. The mass media and internet also has the power to make a person a pessimist. Hence, only what is important should be called forth.

Thus, in total, as author's said that since, the people have so many sorts of news in front, the effects are still being positive. However, there are also negative things that seem insidious should be avoided.