Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Mass media and the internet has resulted in shorter attention spans which is disadvantageous for people. Although the overall effect is positive, the disadvantages cannot be ignored and may have long term effects which cannot be identified today.

Firstly, the paragraph states that people have an enhanced ability to identify information that is more important for them. However, this is not possible if the person does not have pre-requisite knowledge on the topics. Psychologists believe that short attention spans can be harmful for learning, because, students are expected to attend several classes in a day, will not be able to concentrate and learn if their attention span is less than 5 minutes.

The criteria for finding important information may also vary with people. For instance, let us consider the task of searching for a new house. Privacy is the criteria for searching newly wed couples, but it could be the proximity to a good school for parents.

Most of the occupations demands a lot of attention span. For example, Surgeons must have unwavering attention while performing a surgery; Any distraction can be detrimental for the patient. Similarly, Policemen need to be attentive and must be quick to respond for any situation which may arise. Psychologists say that it would be difficult to perform for these vital jobs, if the mass media and the internet cause to have the same effect.

Hence, reduction of attention span of people may not be an ideal solution. It may have side effects which are harmful in the long term.