Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

As it is rightly said this is an era of a digitalized world where our screen time is much higher than the time we spend in interacting with other people. Intenet is a vast pool of information and content and the adults of today have surely learnt the skill of just skimping through the unnecessary information and subsuming the important ones.

I strongly agree with the author's opinion that because of the social media bubble we live in the attention span of individuals has become lesser than that of a goldfish and the ability to filter and scrutinize information has exponentially increased. The below mentioned two scenarios would be describing this in detail.

If a college student has a paper due for submission, then he will have various links, access to previous papers, access to google scholar website etc to get content for what he wants to write in that paper. As every student of the present era goes through this process hence scrutinizing the information and lifting the correct content in a way becomes a part of the education system. hence at a later when this student goes to pursue masters and later gets a job analyzing useful information and quickly going through the not-so-important ones becomes very easy for that individual and that professional which is a very important skill. however, greater options bring along greater confusion and have there are so many links, websites, the material available the attention span surely decreases as when a person is onto one link he/she will feel like reading the next one as it will appear more useful and so on and forth, resulting in not giving too much time to one thing and jumping from one site to another.

Secondly considering the example of an individual working for a multinational company asked to provide his analysis/solution on how to solve a problem which is impacting a lot many people and which tool to be used for the same. because of the vast options available on the internet it would become very easy to compare various tools, for example, say its a data-related problem then the person will be able to consider various tool and would easily be able to pick one. this informed decision will be a result of skimping through redundant knowledge available online and picking the exact ones. however, in this process, the person will also have to jump through various applications and not giving too much attention to just one topic which results in a decreased attention span.

Looking at the above two examples it can be rightly said that anything will have both pros and cons and it's up to individuals to be able to discipline themselves as to where the social media is having a negative effect on their lives and to be able to stop themselves for a healthier mind and life.