Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

The debate between rationality and morality is not a very uncommon one. Some hold the belief that an individual's moral values help in shaping his/her personality/characteristic. Whereas others are of the opinion that the way an individual can methodologically break down problems/situations further educates him and shapes up his/her personality. however, if the discussion is about whether building blocks of the education system should be based on morality/logical reasoning would be very debatable and an interesting one. I strongly agree with the opinion,morality should be the building block of our foundation of education. The two examples stated below that would further help in supporting the thesis.

Considering the example of the functioning of big organizations, higher management would lead the company better if they have certain unsaid code of conduct to follow. Mark Zuckerberg in 2018 when presented in front of the council to defend facebook's data security policies, could defend himself and his own staff because of the ethical moralities followed by each person in the organization. staff working for companies where the data privacy policy is extremely high should follow and maintain a high level of ethical/moral values the seeds of which can be sown during school. if a person follows a pragmatic approach then data of all clients of facebook should be leaked in order for the company to make a profit based on predictive analysis of the most talked-about the application, product, etc.

Second example would be of an employee working in a bank as a data engineer. A lot of times data engineers are exposed to client databases that contain highly confidential information of the client's bank account details, credit card details, etc. however, a person in such a scenario needs to have strong moral values to not store such information in personal drives and spaces. bank jobs especially test candidates on ethical aptitude during interviews and give it more weight as compared to the skills a candidate possesses.

In conclusion, we can say that a person at any stage of life can be taught the logical and pragmatic approach of thinking or of various other things in life but moral values cannot be inculcated overnight. it is a deep understanding of what is wrong and what is right, not as assumed by society but by an individual's subconscious mind. Hence it can also be concluded that the education system should include more moral awakening subjects in their course structure.