A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

The problem stated here is of a pet food company, the pet food company had to recall a certain amount of pet food as the clients complained of pets experiencing lethargy, vomiting and other signs of illness after consumption of the companies food. however, after these claims were made the pet company decided to retract their orders and found out the components present in these food items were pet-friendly. hence the food company further decided not to waste any resource on this investigation. after understanding the scenario mentioned by the author I strongly disagree with the conclusion made, the below two points would be elaborating on why the author's assumption is wrong.

any product is comprised of various components , mixed in various proportions. Although the food company has come clean in terms of the components they have used in this particular product i.e. all components are pet edible but their ration of mixing these components could be a problem. For example, if a component containing fiber is mixed in greater protion then the pet will tend to vomit more if say a component contains sleep-inducing food is mixed more then the pet will tend to sleep more etc. hence it is faulty and extremely disagreeable to just stop the pet food test on components edibility and consumption. The components ratio should also be tested.

Secondly, the pet food producing company has not run any prior tests of this food on pets. they have just validated the individual ingredients edibility and launched the product in the market. however, before launching such products it is inevitable to regressively test as this can turn out to be dangerous to the pets.

hence it can be concluded that just testing or checking whether certain products can be used by pets or not is not helpful the entire end to end(from proportion to production to feedings some pets )test should be performed before launching any food products in the market.