Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Advancement of technology has flooded us with information on different subjects. Every information is just a click away, its range is enormous from how to paint to how to make delicious food. With single query, different search engines result thousands of results in a few seconds. Each of the results carries some additional information, so now it entirely depends on the user how much he/she wants to absorb from it. Now it itself has its own advantages and disadvantages, and people are divided into different groups on the basis of their opinion on this topic. Few consider that human race successfully adapted to new change and we have uplifted our analysis ability due to which we could extract relevant information from the pile of data, on the other hand, some support the fact that due to this large amount of information we are not much focussed nowadays, as like we are in some kind of hurry and donont usually spend much time on a particular thing. In my opinion, we are successfully evolved our tendency of multi-tasking in this era of competition and thankfully we have reached a point where are comfortable with our ability to perform muti-tasks. To bolster my point, I will explain each point with suitable example.

Firstly, in present scenario, every second is well before planned, and we just need to perform those tasks on that time, to prove ourself efficient and accurate we need to perform different things t a particular time, and successfully we have achieved that ability. For instance, as a researcher, I need to perform my writing work and data analysis part along with my experiments, if I just do one task at a time, then it will not be an efficient utilization of my time, I need to work more strategic way to perform all work with accuracy. hence, somehow I am benefitted with this notion as presented in the excerpt.

Secondly, sometimes we did not get the desired information from one source only, so we need to search for different other options to extract desired information. But, after extracting the relevant information from online resources somehow, we people have developed our sharp eyes to get the desired information. Albeit, it may take some time but over a course a time it enables us to identify the desired information. For instance, all the information so available on online resources is not correct, also, we different resources use similar type of content, so with it is our ability to extract the unique information from that specific source. Such type of ability helps us to garner a lot of information in a limited time frame.

Albeit, there are positive effects of short span on people but sometimes, this short span may hurt our social skills, our relationships with our closed one or peers, and may create hindrance in our success. Like, when we spent quality time with our family, friends that time they expect our complete attention, and at that time our short attention span may hurt their feelings, which somehow will have negative impact on our understanding and relationship.

It is concluded that, like every scenario, this situation also consists of two parts, one is positive and negative, though positive overshadow negative but those few limited negative effects are very crucial, hence one should critically analyze and think that where to implement this multi-tasking and short attention ability and where we need give our one hundred percent. As a matter of work and performance, this concept is useful but its judicious use is necessary. It is an important decision for an individual person.