The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

How does one define such a complex and wide ranging concept as contemporary culture? The concept is based on raft of interdependent factors. It is hence immeasurable. However in today's world the youth ,because of it's adaptable nature, is the most crucial part of the contemporary culture. Hence i agree with the claim that the trends of the youth are the most efficacious way of understanding the contemporary culture.

Firstly the contemporary culture depends on the society. Is the society ever-changing, always evolving or is it static and constant throughout the years. If the society is steady for many years, the culture also remains invariable. In this scenario the elders provides a better understanding of the culture. However if the society is rapidly varying, the culture will also follow the trend. This scenario is the most common in today's world due the globalization and the cosmopolitan nature of the cities. Thus in majority cases the trends of the youth are the most effective way to understand the contemporary culture.

Next consider the nature of youth prevailing in the society. Are they open-minded and adaptive in nature or are they parochial and staunch in their beliefs and culture. Since most of the times the youth are more active and involved in the society around them, they imbibe the new culture and beliefs.They also help in spreading the culture. Take the case of Facebook, Twitter and Whatsapp. The youths were the first ones to get influenced by these technological developments. They formed their own culture based on it. Later even the middle-aged and adults followed the suit. Hence in such cases it is effective to analyze the trends of the youth in order to understand culture.

On the contrary though sometimes the contemporary culture is either not so different or is greatly influenced by the traditional cultures. Take the case of Christmas and Thanksgiving. These traditions have been going on for so long they seem eternal. Sure the youth could spin the tradition a little and add few elements to it but the central theme remain the same. Thus in this context the evaluation of superannuated denizens is more effective in understanding the culture.

To recapitulate, the contemporary culture depends on various factors like the type of society, the nature of youth and finally the trends of youth. However due to constant urbanization, globalization and the multicultural nature of most societies, the assessment of trends of the youth is most potent way of understanding the culture.