The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is a widespread belief that the most efficient way to comprehend today's culture is to carefully scrutinize the trends of its young generation. This idea has many proponents due to the fact that today's youth will inevitably become grown-ups and consequently they affect contemporary culture. Although this stance seems to be reasonable I disagree with it and with issue because as far as I am concerned culture created by many generations for centuries and even thousands of years and studying of the trends of youth cannot give a thoughtful understanding of it.

To begin with, culture is an elaborate structure which has been created by many generations during a vast period of time. Consequently, each society carries traces of its past, for example, Indian culture has strict hierarchy which is based on idea of stratus; Russian culture has many traces of former communist regime and many of today's country's citizens are atheists because of culture still preserve the remains of the ideology. From this viewpoint, studying the trends of youth cannot give an objective and comprehensive representation of culture which we want to study and therefore the proposed method ought not to be considered as the best one.

Secondly, even if we assume that contemporary society has no connection with past, we still have some problems with the proposed policy due to the fact that the youth is only a part of society. Statistically, in a healthy society a young generation is about 15 to 18 per cent from the whole population and for many western societies the percentage is even smaller. As a result studying of the trends of young population may give only partial representation of culture and thus it cannot be considered as the most effective way.

Finally, even if we surmise that the youth played a crucial role in a creation of contemporary culture, the studying of its trends still would have limited outlook at the today’s culture owing to the fact that many of trends of progeny, in particular, adolescents have never become mainstream ones. In fact, the most of youth trends, which have ever existed in the XX century, have disappeared without significant impact on the culture. For example, punks, emo are names of two trends which have disappeared. Moreover, even such famous trends of 1960s as hippy, has evanesced when the flower children become older. As a result, studying of the trends of progeny may not bring expected results - deep understanding of contemporary society.

In conclusion, although many of us profoundly believe that studying of our youth may give us a change to understand the modern culture in all its variety and diversity, I disagree with it because culture is a product of many generations, moreover, the youth is an important but relatively small part of society and thus cannot represent it in all its variety. Finally, many of the trends of youth will never become mainstream ones and will merely vanish without significant influence on modern culture.