A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The education systems across a country today are far more complex and unique to each other when compared to the past. In the past, due to lack of technology and low rates of developments in any branch of science and very few opportunities, people would follow a simple and more refined curriculum, which might vary across a country but not by much. In a country like India where education systems reform continuously, it is very difficult to set up a unique curriculum for the entire nation. Passing such a legislature would help families and children of different backgrounds to receive the same quality of education.

Firstly, it would lead to a decrement in the fee structure in many schools and high schools. In a county like India which has large diversity in terms of religion, background, etc, people who are affluent tend to send their children to schools which falsely portray the extra benefits have huge fee structures. If a curriculum has been designed which is common to all the schools in a nation, schools with huge fee structures have to step down to all the other schools, since the syllabus is common and no one would enroll their children in such schools. This leads to a solution for the problem "Education is not a Business".

Furthermore, there would be no bias among children of families with low-income. It is a common belief that the students studying in the Urban areas receive a rich quality of education when compared to those studying in rural schools. A curriculum common for the entire nation would completely rule out such belief and all the children would receive the same quality of education irrespective of their family's income.

The curriculum which is being designed common for the entire country should cover all the aspects and knowledge without any decrement in the quality of the education when compared to the countries which have higher literacy rates. If there are any faults in the agenda, the students in the entire country are effected and this leads to a catastrophe in the education system of a country. But the people who are responsible in designing the curriculum are not naïve and are pretty perceptive. Since the positives don't overrule the negatives, a common curriculum for an entire nation is feasible .