Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Nature is an essential part of our day to day life, without natural vegetation, human can not imagine its existence on earth. Indisputably, in the race of becoming supreme power and the most successful country in the world, countries are continuously clearing the wilderness to develop economical buildings. Nevertheless, focussing on countries economies is one of the major tasks of lawmakers but they should also consider the harm that we are doing to the mother earth. Thus, I believe that lawmakers should enforce a law for protecting the remaining wilderness. As it will check the amount of CO2 and other harmful pollutants that we are constantly adding to the environment.

First of all, humans have already appropriated a lot of lands that belonged to wild animals which has led to the decline or extinction of many wildlife animals. Some animals and plants are quite sensitive and they are unable to adapt to a new environment. Humans by taking away their homes for their money-making buildings, leaving animals to move further deeper into the jungles. These animals in their new environment fight for their survival against the scarcity of natural food sources or competition from other animals. To illustrate, Sunder-bans in West Bengal, India used to be the home of thousands of white tigers and birds. But today the tiger numbers have reduced insignificantly and it has dropped to a level where they are now considered as endangered species. The main reason behind this decline is the human hunters and industries set up in nearby areas. Most humans fail to realize that one species extinction leads to an imbalance in the ecological cycle.

Moreover, the entire world is fighting against global warming. The main reason for global warming is the clearing of trees. There is less vegetation present today than it was some ten years back. If we continue to clear forests in this way then the end of humans is not far. As there will be no plants to provide us with oxygen. The water bodies might dry up in few areas whereas the melting of arctic circle ice may lead to floods in order area. Plants also play an important role in purifying the air and maintaining the earth’s temperature for human existence. In the absence of them, the earth will no longer remain a planet fit for human survival.

Admittedly, economical growth is a must for countries growth. This is especially when people are suffering from unemployment and economic depression. In addition to this, it also becomes necessary when the people of the country are begging for necessities like food and water but all this at the cost of the planet is not warranted. It is because of the natural environment around us that we can live, removing them leads to soil erosion which exaggerates the scarcity of food. Washing away of chemicals in the rivers makes water unfit for our drinking. Therefore we must protect them for our good.

In conclusion, economic growth is meaningless if we can not take care of the surroundings in and around us. Wildlife plays a crucial role in maintaining the food chain balance as well as the water cycle on earth.