Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state.

Preserving the remaining wilderness areas in their natural state is one of the major responsibilities of every nation and hence for the sustainable preservation it is almost necessary to pass the laws related to it. In general, by wilderness area, what we mean is those areas whose natural growth is protected by legislation. Moreover, the recreational and industrial use of such areas is restricted. The necessity for the preservation of wilderness areas lies in the facts: to protect extinct flora and fauna, to minimize the over spreading of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere and finally for the development of eco-tourism.

Among various dimensions of wilderness area the most important is its biological aspect. For the conservation of wild lives and plants which are going to be extinct, the conservation of wilderness area is of the cardinal importance. In Nepal, the Government had passed the laws for the preservation of wilderness areas in the name of national parks. More than 20% of the land of the whole country has now protected the wilderness areas in which more than 300 different species of rare plants and more than 250 different wild lives are protected. According to the law, no people are allowed to hunt any species of animals within these national parks and also they are not allowed destroy the natural habitat by any means. These restrictions, however hinders the right of people to use natural resources frugally, have yielded in the increase of endangered species in significant way.

Global warming is the most serious and contemporary problem of the preset world. Continuous increase of temperature of earth has effect not only on the melting of snow of ice lands but its effect has been increasing, leading to more menacing problem of ozone layer depletion. One of the various greenhouse gases, carbon-dioxide has found to be absorbed by the plants while preparing of their food. It is then realized throughout the world that increasing the area swathed by forest, the dangerous effect of carbon release in the atmosphere could be effectively mitigated. If the longterm problem of ozone layer depletion is, somehow, diminished by preserving the wilderness areas then why a Government shouldn’t pass the laws for it?

Finally, the concept of eco-tourism deals about idea that connects a tourism to balanced ecosystem. As per the data provided ministry of tourism, about one fourth of the total tourists coming in Nepal from other different countries, mostly focus on visiting the national parks and the preserved areas. Some of them prefer enjoying the visit of forests to see different plants and animals while some others tend to learn about the geographical as well as the biological aspects of such areas. This observation explicitly suggests that wilderness areas may be the center for tourism. This ultimately leads the economic growth of the nation.

As concluding remark, the nation should make such laws which can protect the extinct wild lives, can attract large number of tourists and at a same time helps in the minimizing the problem of climate change.