Parents should be able to monitor and restrict which books, digital media, or other information their children access at or check out of the public library.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The basis of the issue lies in the question of whether parents should control and limit the wideness of contents that their children would be able to access in public libraries. At a first glance, it could seem reasonable to think that such a system would be a huge advantage for parents since they would be able to monitor every single source of information their children get in contact with. However, from an overall perspective, the freedom of though of their children will be substantially jeopardized and, furthermore, the implementation of this policy would be extremely difficult.

First, the public library is commonly known as a place where children can develop their own imagination. Therefore, the use of a system which would allow their parent to ban some contents would be dramatically dangerous for them. In fact, they would lose the unique opportunity to develop their personal view of the world since they would be forever submitted to their parents' ideological view. Suppose for instance that some parents who believe that God do not exist force their children to accept their view and, furthermore, they block any content related to religion in the public library. Their offspring will never have the possibility to ask themeselves the problem of the existence of any God and, thus, they are likely not to believe in God just because their parents were not doing that and not because it is their own thought.

In addition, this kind of system would be strongly difficult to be implemented. In fact, in order to monitor the actions of the children several controls would have to be imposed. On one side, the monitoration of digital contents would not be that difficult since many informatic systems are able to decide which specifical contents every single account can have access to. In this perspective, if every single child would have his own account the system could seam reasonable to create. However, the real troubles occur when we think about the ban and control of paper contents such as books and cds. In most of the libraries it is possible to find this elements in huge shelves and one of the most beatiful aspects of these infrastructures is how children can be inspired be a content just walking besides these mountains of books. In order to control or ban this kind of contents, many employees woud be needed and the access to the resources would totally lose its initial idea of freedom and imagination. All this is to say that, in the case in which a control system would be implemented, children would not have anymore the chance to travel with their imagination since they should go to the libraries with the titles of the contents wanted already in their mind.

On the other side of the argument, many people could argue that this system would finally allow to keep children away from all he digital contents which are always blamed to be the main source of the increasing violence behaviors among the youngest. However, also keeping in mind the two main drawbacks we have already discussed, this problem should be limited not by libraries, but by parents' education. In fact, children who has been well-educated by their parents try to respect their pricniples even where their have some freedom of choice, as it happens in public library.

In conclusion, the claim that some limitations of content available to children should be implement in public library, is not completely wrong since it would give families many benefits, for instance it would help to prevent young people from violent contents. However, these benefits are strongly overweighted by several drawbacks. Firstly, the free of thougth of the youngest would be jeopardized since without having acces to some ban contents, they would be forever affected by their parents ideological choices. Moreover,this system would be difficult to be implmented and to be managed since in order to do that the asset of library would be affected by many substancial changes.