As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the technology has detrimental effects on people’s creative thinking. In today’s world, where technology is the most developed field of human activity, it is difficult to discuss the extent of the impact the technology has on humanity. On the one hand, many studies have shown that the excessive exposure to technology causes mental health, physical and social suffers. On the other hand, if used appropriately, technology facilitates and improves the quality of our lives. While sound arguments can be made for both perspectives, a careful analysis reveals that there are a number of compelling reasons to disagree with the statement that technology deteriorates human intellectual abilities including problem-solving. The paragraphs below will discuss the reasoning for this position and consider its implications.

In contrast to the argument, it is a fact that technological development, implementation and usage require problem-solving. Technology is a product of problem-solving which applies knowledge from many different disciplines. For example, in the information technology industry, due to the constant and rapid changes, problem-solving has a crucial role. The evolution of the IT industry calls for problem-solving strategy which can maintain a competitive advantage in the IT marketplace by identifying the root cause of the problems and preventing them. Furthermore, every technological invention and its implementation are results of human intelligence and decision making. Consider laboratories where professionals from different fields, conduct interdisciplinary studies for years, implementing their knowledge. These intellectuals are involved in erudite discussions, critically analyzing the impacts of their technological solution and reevaluation existing solutions in order to predict possible outcomes and choose the most appropriate solution to a problem. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that technology, applying the problem-solving strategies, stimulates creative thinking.

Further, the fact that today’s technological inventions are able to solve mundane problems, gives an opportunity for people to engage in more complex thinking. To illustrate, let us look at the example of the calculator which is used to solve simple math questions. Additionally, machine learning today is helping companies interpret data, learn from missed forecasts, and find new correlations. Moreover, technology provides access to information otherwise unavailable. Specifically, advanced Google research has provided access to information which before the Internet was inconceivable to acquire. This technological invention has directly impacted and helped in the improvement of education and research. Today’s professors and students are able to incorporate knowledge acquiring solutions and results from the whole world. Further, technology connects people at a distance and allows them to share ideas. Consider numerous projects where participate in different universities from all over the world. Thanks to the Internet, professors from the most distant countries, can communicate and work together every day. Electronic media like radios, televisions, the internet, social media have ameliorated the exchange of ideas which has developed our societies. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that technological advances will not deteriorate one’s creative thinking, but rather make life easier and more efficient.

Finally, all technological innovations are a result of creative thinking of scientists from all fields. These technological advancements have improved the quality of human lives. This is true especially when it comes to healthcare, where medical technology plays a pivotal role in saving and ameliorating countless lives. Consider how brilliant innovations like MRI machines, widely used in hospitals and clinics, have made improvements in the medical diagnosis. Additionally, artificial organs, and robotic prosthetic limbs, and more have made significant contributions to surgical advancements, and; thus, patient care in the whole world. However, it is a fact that an increase in the demand for new technologies causes more pressure on the earth’s natural resources. For example, the phone, the computer, cars, and planes are great technological inventions which have forever changed the world. Yet, the increase in demand for mobile phones and computers, now only develops the business of different industries like Apple, Samsung, Boeing or BMW, but it requires exploitation of irreplaceable resources whose maturation takes millions of years, such as aluminum. Another example is the intensive farming practices where heavy applications of commercial fertilizers adulterate the soil. All these problems, dangerous for human lives, require creative thinking of maverick scientists who can overcome these problems and save the world.

In conclusion, while there are arguments to be made for both sides of this debate, it is clear that technology is an essential part of human evolution. As shown above, technological inventions, have always been a product of the human ability to think and solve numerous problems. Therefore, it is certain that technological benefits are enormous for the development of human intellectual abilities.