People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

One of the most common and still in use maxims till date states we should never allow our emotions get the better of our intellect. To elucidate, this maxim suggests that decisions made logically would always trump decisions based on emotions. The prompt makes a commensurate suggestion by calling out emotional decision makers and naming them to be poor decision makers regardless of if they can justify these decisions with logic. I mostly agree with the prompt and I expatiate on my reasons why I partially agree with this prompt in the next three paragraphs.

Firstly, like the maxim I stated earlier suggests, logical decisions more often than not are better than their emotional counter-parts. We have all had outbursts where we decided to speak irrationally only to be left wishing we hadn't done what we just did. We also have had moments filled with so much joy that we go on to make promises or wishes we are incapable of upholding. Our ability to justify these decisions afterwards and say "Oh, I was angry and I decided to castigate how you arranged the room" doesn't justify that we made a poor emotional decision by reacting in an unpleasant way. In these sort of situations, these emotional decisions can well be considered as poor decision makers.

Furthermore, to justify an act is to concede to the act being wrong and make a conscious effort to prove that such act is indeed right. This statement, thus, contradicts itself. A memorable example can be gotten from the cold war where the US President permitted the launch of several attacks on north Vietnam under the guise of saving it from communism. The US was suffering from great human casualty and still continued sending men to fight in the war in a desperate effort to save face and prove they could in fact put a hold to communism. Years later after succumbing to the sheer impossibility of restraining the communist take over of Vietnam the USA pulled out its soldiers. An effort was made to "justify" their reasons, as logical, as communism poses a great threat to the world, however, this justification doesn't ameliorate the approach to which they handled the situation. An approach that can be considered as terrible decision making.

Nonetheless, to unequivocally assume all emotional decisions are bad decisions from incompetent decision makers doesn't hold water as there are cases in which emotionally instigated decisions have saved lives if not the world from total annihilation. The perfect example for this is the Cuba missile crisis. During the cold war when the USA and Russia were flexing their military powers there was a point at which both nations were on the verge of total obliteration that was unknown to them. If not for the decision of a russian general in a sub-marine off the pacific who decided based on emotion not logic to "halt" the launching of a russian warhead on the United states the war wouldve enterred full thruttle and wouldve resulted in the damnation of our earth as we know it.

To juxtapose poor decion makers with emotinal decisions would result in a high correlation between the two, but, to neglect the possibility of an anomaly in which an emotional decision ended up being the necessary course is to be sentimental and not objectively look at things. It is for this reason i don't completely agree with the prompt as i believe that isn't always the case.