People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

The crux of the topic is that people's attitude and their behaviour are more influenced by recent and immediate situations rather than by society as a whole. I personally disagree with the statement for the following reasons and I am going to provide some examples to bolster my stance.

First of all, humans are socialize creature and human behaviour and their characteristics are influenced by myriad thing and society as a whole are one of the greatest factors of them all. Because society had its own character and it is difficult to marginalize the whole society. From our childhood, our parents, family, friends, and milieu have a great effect on us. Children are behaving more or less how their surrounding people behave around them and that learning thorough surroundings affects the young minds in a long term and left a mark, even sometimes for life long, because those characteristics they practice from their childhood.

Societies absolutely affect the people's mind in a lifelong way and we did not change our behavior in a certain amount of time because it became the habit of humans. In a particular situation or a particular time, we might act differently but does not reflect the whole the attitudes of a person. We did not develop an attitude or persona in a brief of time, it is a gradual process. For example, in our early childhood, we developed character from our family and parents. We behave more like our parents and even after many years, we can find semblance in the character between parents and their children. Later days the influx of outer ambiance greatly influenced us. For example, in our school and colleges, friend and other adventitious factors influenced us, and later days work place influence our characteristics. So, the whole society that affects the behavior of a person on slowly and step by step manner.

On the other hand, people might argue that immediate situations influenced human behavior more than society. People might act differently than their actual behabiour and some people might be said that sudden situations can be brought out the actual character of a person where he might have acted in a deceitful manner in keeping his public persona. That argument might be true but it is also true that due to a different character which they developed in a lifelong, they act differently and some people handle a situation calmly than other because that kind of attitude they developed, which can not achieve in one situation.

At the epilogue of the topic, for the above reasons I believed that societies effect to our attitude is more influential than immediate situations, but at last, I would say that the humans developed an attitude in a gradual process and immediate situations and surroundings are also part of our society.