People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In every country, as they grow older, people develop different views and attitudes. In some cases, this process occurs at the societal level to the extent that characterizes the overall society as such. On the other hand, some argue that individuals often shape their worldview in close touch with their local cultures. This is clearly a controversial and subjective topic in nature, but a careful analysis of the recent public narrative on gun control as well as gay marriage in the US lends credence to the view that is consistent with the presented statement.

First, if we review the case of heated debate on gun control in the US, it becomes evident that people’s attitudes on this issue are largely influenced by their immediate surroundings. In the wake of numerous gun-related incidents, ranging from accidental shootings by infants to malicious attempts to mass-murder, the country has been divided on whether to tighten its gun regulations and to what extent it should do so. It is typical that conservatives in the South who have grown up in an environment where guns are part of their lives, in the form of, say, hunting, argue that it is not the guns but the people that kill. In contrast, individuals who have been negatively affected by the dangerous nature of guns or who were raised in a culture that perceives guns as pure weapons often make a case that the more guns, the more potential violence by showing its correlation. As this issue clearly reveals, immediate surroundings such as local culture and upbringing often shape the ways in which people view certain cases.

Similarly, the case of gay marriage also exemplifies the ways in which immediate social climate is often the determinant for people’s attitudes. As with the public discourse on gun control, gay marriage was one of the nation-wide controversies in the US before the Supreme Court finally decided to legalize it at the federal level. On one side of the equation, liberals in the Northeast states and West Coast who tend to hold the view that every citizen should be entitled for marriage shaped this stance as a result of numerous area-specific factors such as their own education, their friends’ family structure, and their families’ secular views. On the other hand, in light of those in the South who were opposed to gay marriage, it is evident that their view was also formed by community-level cultures such as Christian ideologies prevalent in the South. The nature of this controversy for which opinions significantly vary from state to state reveals that attitudes are shaped at the local level rather than the societal level.

Yet, while the cases above clearly show how people’s attitudes are influenced by their immediate conditions, we cannot go as far to conclusively argue that there does not exist society-level culture. For instance, rated as one of the most collective societies, Japan values and reinforces the idea that social cohesion is what makes the country successful. Anthropologists have constantly characterized the emphasis on uniformity as the country’s overall culture in contrast to individualism more prevalent in Western countries. As this example demonstrates, it is no doubt that there are larger society-level cultures that influence people’s attitudes. Despite this, as a caveat, it would be wise to note the risk of assuming that every citizen in a society holds the same value system.

In summary, while there are numerous arguments to be made for both sides, the aforementioned cases of gun control and gay marriage in the US support the view that people’s attitudes are determined by their immediate situation and surroundings. Although there are certain exceptions to this case, it is nonetheless important to note that there is often variation within cultures that shape the individuals’ worldview.