The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

I doubt very strongly that the actual talent of a popular musician is not possible to be accessed until the musician has been dead for several generation, or one must be awaiting in his graveyard for hundreds of years for his/her assessment certificate. But I will go this far (and not so far) with the author: the assessment process may digress in light of the fame of the musician.

It sounds so farfetched to maintain that the musician of my grandparent’s era to be assessed in the era of my child or grandchild. The author failed to delve in many aspects before arriving at his assertion: will the musical taste remains the same for several generations? Aren’t there any genres of music that are not extant with time? Doesn’t the trend show that with every new generation, new– and rather modern – genres are created? One must be absurdly credulous, if not downright gullible, to believe that a generation will be awaiting centuries back timed musicians to idolized. Moreover, their musical taste would have been so modern, most of them might not even know/follow those musicians.

Evaluating a performer or a singer is an act that must go on with the performance of the musician; trying to assess someone with his recordings, videos or audios cannot supplant his lively performance. I have seen many singers moving from zero to hero - a roadside singer reaching the stage, a musician singing in the bus later singing in the high platform, a singer singing in front of 4 peoples reaching to millions are not new to these eyes; and most of them were bestowed with the entitlement, reverence very before their photos were bestowed with the flowers. Asha Bhosle, one of my favorites, awarded with ‘Padma vibhusan’ was officially acknowledged by the Guinness Book of World Record as the most recorded artist in music history and to the great discontent to the authors claim, she is still alive, wholesome and revered by millions of peoples.

Now, let’s have a look to the tail side of the coin – the assessment of musician might be overshadowed by the fame possessed by the author; I don’t deny it either but, it’s a deftness of the musician that bestow them with the veneration, and entitlement and the effect on it by the fame of the artist is transient; no longer can one be revered and loved as a musician on account of his fame alone if he had no dexterity as a musician.

To sum up, fame of a musician has a very transient effect and whose impact in the assessment will not last long and thus, assessment real talent of the musician does not demand his death.