Requiring university students to take a variety of courses outside their major fields of study is the best way to ensure that students become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Universities and educators always prepare curriculums to benefit students and it is our duty to believe in their intuitions. However, every student have their own major they want to pursue, hence students opinion also should be taken into consideration. In my opinion, I partially disagree with the author stating that variety of courses are required for a person to be truly educated for the following reasons.

To begin with, the economic development of a nation depends upon the education of youngsters. Hence, if students excel in variety of courses, there will be an economic development in the nation. It will reduce illiteracy rate in the country and many more. For example, if a student studies about politics and science, he will have opportunities to pursue his career in politics or science. Also, if for instance, political job market falls apart with recession then he will have an opportunity to find jobs in science thereby reducing unemployment rate in the country. Thus, improving knowledge in various fields provides benefits to the nation.

However, there are people who excel in specified courses who contribute to the development of a country too. If a person is specialised in a specific course of study then he will have a better chance for creating his own opportunity for jobs. For example, if a student specialises in marketing but wasn’t able to get a job in marketing, he can build his own firm or company with his specialised skills. So, there is no need for various subjects to interfere with students who have a determined goal.

Also, if determined student studies various courses beyond his major, then it will lead to waste of time. For example, a student pursuing biology would have no relation with math or social science. Extraneous subjects will only distract the students from achieving proper specialisation. Moreover, it will add stress and presser while learning various courses in a short span of time. Thus, instead of studying various courses, if students focus on one major subject, they are determined to succeed in it.

In conclusion, students have different perspective and depending upon their interest’s curriculum has to be followed. Also, it is important not to dump myriad of subjects on students. Thus, universities can provide elective subjects for students and based on student’s particular interests, they can join any course of study which would guarantee a successful future and a truly educated student in that particular field.