Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

There are many social, environmental, political issues we, as common people, need to pay our attention to. A public speaker or a reformer helps the dormant or uneducated public manifest the problems that are imminent/existing. But many a times an activist also is unaware of the dark deeds of powerful people, false scams, multinational coorporations, strong political entities etc.

Scandals can be defined in many ways. Some can be considered as purely monetary as its aim, some as cupidity for social power or for personal gains. I agree with the author that scandals can focus our attention on the problems which are necessary.

Mainly scandals are, looting the common people by duping them. Political entities may or may not be involved. The charlatans entice the common people by giving them ludicrous offers, which they make them think,will benefit them. And majority of common people being easily manipulated by easy money are trapped in these scams. These scams are mainly aimed at swindling the peasants. The worst part is that the victims doesn’t even realise they are being thugged. They are so much captivated by these enticing schemes, they don’t even check the authenticity of those people. And often, these people are accompanied by the political entities.

All this is happening in so dark that no one even realises that someone is up to something bad. And no activist or reformer can throw light on this. The only way these people can be exposed is to perform a sting operation or an undercover investigation. When these scams are exposed in public, the common people then come to know about what is actually happening and they need to focus on these problems first hand.

For example, a chemical company who instead of refining its waste, which costs a lot of money, dumps it in the river which in turn kills the village dwellers consuming that water. To cover up this blame the company declares that people died because of an endemic spread in that village and they bribe some of the officers to corroborate this claim. When this is exposed as a scandal, the real deed of the company is effused in front of the general public. This would focus the general attention on the problem created by the chemical company on environment, which by a reformer could have been easily supressed by the power of the company.

Another example being, the 2G scam in India. This scandal exposed the ruling party being involved in this scam which was ruling for more than fifteen years. There were many accusations by political activists but they were suppressed by the political prowess of the ruling party. Only a full exposure can bring light to the scam. And it did, and as a result, they lost the next general election.

Hence it is true that these scandals bring forth the dark deeds of these charlatans, hence focusing the attention of general public on what is necessary.