Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Before we jump to any conclusion, we need to be clear about what is an educational institute. The points mentioned here will be accepted thoroughly through the essay. An educational institution is an entity which is solely in the profession of educating its students. It is entitled to support its students for whatever type of knowledge they choose to opt, provided they teach the same. It is the responsibility of the institute to provide the best possible resources to its students. it is a profession where the experienced guides the novice. The students diligently coming to the professors with their concerns and the professors, without predilections, guiding the students to their best knowledge, is a general sum up of an institution.(For the sake of the essay, kindly ignore my use of masculine gender. This is applicable for all kind of people.)

An average student derives a majority of the academic and intellectual knowledge from academic institutions. A student is likely to pursue a career which he thinks is suitable for him. While the student has complete authority to decide whether a given career is appropriate , the academic institutions he is associated to plays a very important role in helping him decide what career path to choose.

The fact that an average student spends more than two third of his adolescent life with educational institutions, its impact on one’s life, is inevitable. The motive of the educational institutions is to guide students through their career path. Starting from the schools, it tries to teach them the fundamental education required to sustain in the practical world. Further, it provides the knowledge about the possibilities of different professions in the real world, leaving students the absolute authority to decide what to choose when time comes. Even though the decision is upto students, the role of an educational institute in shaping the views of its students cannot be ignored.

Hence, if a professor who represents the institute feels that the student is inappropriate in the field which he has chosen to, then he has the responsibility to explain the students and his guardian that, why according to him the student shouldn’t pursue his desired field. As mentioned above, a student who spends most of the time in an educational institute, the institute is more likely to know more about the student than anyone else. Furthermore, the institute is all about sharing experience from the well-educated(professors) to the naïve. So, who better than the institution to guide its students about their career.

For example, if a student is good in programming and even if he chooses to be model because he considers modelling easy, then it is the responsibility of an institute to elucidate importance of hard work and explain him that he should pursue what he is good at and not what is easy, which in this case is IT engineering.

Therefore, considering the facts that an educational institute knows its students better and there are connoisseurs who are entitled to guide the students unbiasely, I can say that educational institutions have a major responsibility to guide students if they think they might not succeed in a particular field.