The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The basis of this argument is the fact that shoppers in central plaza have decreased and number of skateboarders have increased. The store owner concludes that if skateborading is prohibited in the plaza then they will retain the previous high level of their business. However, the store owner does not explain his reasons comprehensively. He needs to provide more evidence for the conclusion he has made.

The increase in popularity of skateboarding does not not mean that the skateboearders are specifically coming to central plaza for skateboarding. The store owner needs to provise evidence that the number of skateboarders has increased very much in central plaza due to popularity of skateboarding.

Firstly, he needs to provide evidence that the increased number of skateboraders has resulted into decrease in the number of shoppers. It is also possible that both the entities have no relation between them. It is possible that, there is a very different reason for declining in the business of the shop keepers and skateboarders have nothing to do between them. The decline in the business might result from outdated items for sale, which no one uses these days, or it is possible that there are multiple openings of diffeernt malls or shops in the same area. It is also possible that these new shops provides better rates of the same items that are being sold at central park. It is also possible that the market, in which central park store owners are in, is now saturated. Moreover, in this age of digitisation, it is also possible that people might buy the same items online instead of physically going to central park.

Secondly , the store owner blames the increase in the amount of vandalism and littering in central park to the increase in number of skateboarders. While, this might be true, the store owner needs to provide convincing evidence for the same. It is also possible that due to the presence of the skateboarders during daytime, thieves might not intend to rob the shops during the daytime, which might be benificial to the shop owners. Generally, skateboarders are in the activity area only during the day time. Hence, if robbery is committed during night time, skateboarders have nothing to do with it. Also, the store owner has not provided any evidence that the vicinity has been littered due to skateboarders only. It is also possible that many people from outside might have degraded the place.

Moreover, the owner has not provided enough evidence that how exactly his business will return to its high volume as before. It is possible that people wouldnt like to come to a place which is very old now. There might be many reasons for shoppers going to different places other than central park.

Hence, the store owner has immaturely concluded his argument and he needs to answer some questions. It seems that it will only weaken his argument further.