Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

As per research conducted by World Wide Fund (W.W.F.) for endangered species in 2015, it is the responsibility of the citizen, authorities and Government to initiate concrete plans in order to not only save but also conserve endangered species. The endangered species cover the whole spectrum of animals, plants, flowers, birds, rivers and all other things bestowed upon us by nature before civilisation. While, there is no reservation that society should work towards saving every species, whether it is endangered or not, there is a reason to believe that efforts must be undertaken by the society to save at least those that are endangered because of selfish motives of the society. These species are endangered because they are being traded or destroyed for commercial gains that exist in today’s commoditised world.

However, true it may be the case that society should implement plans to conserve those endangered species that are being exploited for commercial use, one such argument that supports the case that all species must be conserved by the society is that all these species protected us from natural disaster. The species since ancient times helped pre-human era to balance the environment, however, with large scale deforestation, rapid growth in urbanisation and selling of animals’ skin and flesh for money, occurrence of natural disaster has become the norm. For example, the study conducted by Geologist Society of India in 2016 concluded that the region of Andhra Pradesh suffered cyclones after every 3 years because the land near to the sea has been cleared for industrial house which used to resist large tides coming towards the habitation and large number of trees on this land used to protect humans from gust. Therefore, in order to save mankind from the wrath of nature, it is necessary for society to protect all species.

However, the argument that supports the policy that those species must be protected which have become endangered because of human is that a human life does not has a perennial nature, therefore would end someday for everyone. The texts of religious books such as Bible and Quran state that in order to enjoy the liberties of after-life in heaven, society must make amends for committing inadvertent and intentional sins while society was alive. For example, an infamous person, Mr. Veerapan, was accused for large number of killings of elephants in 2006 since he was involved in the trading of skin of elephants. But due its influence on politics and Government, he was acquitted. But his horrible death made others to start believing the religious texts of Bible since he was being killed by running over of elephants and his dead body was not found in one piece for posthumous rituals. Today everyone has a faith in his respective religion and believes in after-life, therefore, for such religious reason, society must protect those that were harmed by humans.

Another argument that buttresses the policy of saving endangered species that were damaged because of commercial reasons is that commercial viability is not possible without these species. Today, the massive area of lands are cleared for development of residential houses in order to accommodate the increased population growth. And in some areas of India, large area of jungles are cleared in order to make the direct road connecting fragmented industrial hubs. These steps destroy flora and fauna that exist in these areas and make them endanger that results human society face consequences in the form of disaster. For example, the research conducted by Save Animal Organization in 2014 concluded that due to rise in natural disaster, population is expected to decline significantly and nature in the form of hurricanes would damage the industrial houses that were established near the coast for exports. The study further argued that without the population, businesses would not be able to find buyers and investments that have been made in last decades would go in vain. Therefore, even to serve the commercial interests of today’s society, it is imperative that endangered species conserve by the society.

While concluding, as can be seen from above paragraphs that although the conservation of all species is necessary in order to save mankind, the species which have been destroyed by human must be conserved immediately since the purpose for which they were harmed would not be sustainable in future. Therefore, commoditised society must think if it desires to achieve short term goal of earning today and dying tomorrow or to earn perennially with balanced development.