Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Competition is an essential part of personal development. It pushes one to improve regarding the task at hand, but at times, can become a detriment. An abundance of leaders are fierce competitors, but it is the great leaders that have taught themselves to delegate and cooperate with others. The upper echelon of leaders thrived in their abilities to understand their logic, create strong bonds and manage their consitutents.

Humans are inherently biased. We have strong predilections towards certain subjects and ideas. Great leaders acknowledge the importance of understanding the driving forces of opposing views. For instance, take the education company Quottly: the founder, James Gibson, had connected with a former CEO named Melanie Freehafer. He heard her thoughts on the direction of the Company. While these thoughts opposed his aspirations for the Company, Freehafer's thoughts resonated with him. Gibson moved himself to Chief Technology Officer and gave the Chief Executive Officer role to Melanie Freehafer. She currently resides in the position; the Company has thrived as a result of it. Leaders understand the importance of opposing thoughts because maintaining a parochial scope limits success.

As people climb the ranks of success, often they are thrusted with more responsibilities and duties. Typically, managerial positions are encompassed in such a role. Tasked with maintaining a team of people, creating an amicable work environment is imperative to success. Salesforce CEO Marc Beinoff understands this: he has poured a glut of resources into building the Company's cultural infrastructure. As a result, Salesforce is awarded accolades regularly and boasts a stock price that has quadrupledin the past five years. The best leaders help embolden the group's goal by fostering an environment that emboldens everybody.

Constrastly, there are competitive leaders who have found great success in their respective industries. Take Michael Jordan, the hall of fame basketball player for the Chicago Bulls. He was known for being such a fierce competitor that he would often shout obscenities at his teammates. He had such a fiery spirit that it often emboldened the team's energy. Being a cooperative leader is not mutually exclusive to success - many intensely competitive leaders have pushed entities to success.

The combined efforts of a group of people offer limitless potential. Leaders that are able to understand and establish such a movement create a highly effective catalyst for work. By understanding other ideals and managing internal relationships, great leaders inspire a collective effort towards a goal.