Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Choosing a field from a plethora of the ones available is always difficult especially when one has to seek various parameters of interest and availability of jobs in a particular field. However, one must always choose the field that one believes he has interest and talent in.

There can be several reasons that can be accorded for doing this.Firstly, a defined interest leads to the urge to achieve perfection.Thriving for perfection always motivates an individual to achieve excellence and satisfaction. Thus,making him capable enough to make best use of opportunities that he comes across.This would eventually help him to become financially sound and stable in life.

Secondly, choosing a field of study on the availabilty of jobs may not prove to be a fruitful idea always. This is because the availability of jobs in any particular field is not fixed. Situations like recession, economic slope and time advancements affects the market in many ways,thus in turn affecting the jobs associated as well.

Thirdly,availability of jobs does not imply that an individual will prove to be fit for the job. Job handling has many other factors like stress management, competition management etc. associated with it. The extent of impacts of these factors may vary from one field to another. Hence it is not necessary that the person will always find a way to sail through such problems without compromising on other positive things that may put him in a state of gloom and depression. However, if he chooses the field of his own interest then it is likely that he will find a more efficient and worthy way of seeking solution to the professional hindrances without feeling depressed because his interest will top the chart of his priority list.

Fourthly, excellence in the person’s own field of interest imparts a sense of pride and helps him attain the peace of mind. Both inspire him to achieve success in the long run. People like Bill Gates and Mark Zukenburg exemplify as to why one should follow his/her interests as a profession.Both are college dropouts who created a revolution in their time in the world of technology globally. Hence, one should always consider interest and talent while choosing a field.