Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Innate qualities of an individual is of higher importance when it comes to choosing a career. A person who choose the job as his/her career based on the talent they possess is less likely to suffer in their career growth later in life as they will what they do and not be compelled to do what they do not like. I do agree with the prompt that we should decide the career and study fields based on the talent we have ,rather than evaluating the job market and then fit our interest in the subject which is on demand in the market. Doing the later could have some momentarily gain, but in the long run they will suffer as they are forced to work in the field which least correlates with their talent and natural interest.

Firstly, its imperative for a person to identify the talent he/she possess, adapt the course of study in the initial days of the career decision making and work through it to make it as their profession , disregard of the market scenario and technology that is in boon. For example, a student having keen interest in arts and history is ought to have selected a graduation course on Arts rather than leaning towards Statics and machine learning with is in boom currently. He might however with a high payed job, but as the time progresses he will realize that he was made to fit a job irrelevant of his talent. He may later has to compromising as his job would be hectic and he may not be able to enjoy the field of study and contribute much because that’s not what he is made for. Such people are in all likelihood are not know to have made considerable progress because they work against their own talent. Therefore, choosing the career that well suits a individual talent rather that the market is a pivotal for greater success.

Secondly, market changes demands with regards to field of technology. Today we see software engineering and machine learning technology that is in boom and tomorrow it will be something else related to Astronomy, or Popular arts etc. The demands of market is transitory and hence we do not have to completely follow the market while choosing the field of study and rely on our natural talent and field of interest. Take for example civil engineering, which had a boob on 1990’s in India as there was more need of infrastructure development and today we least see that civil engineers are in demand, ostensibly we cannot say that civil engineers won’t make their livelihood by being in the profession, but its less in demand compared to other field of engineering. Had a person chosen civil engineering in 1990’s despite having talent in statistics (which is in demand today due to machine learning) he would have suffered in his professional career and would also have a sense of regret because he didn’t choose statistics. Therefore it’s better to build up the career based on the quality and not rely on the short term demands of the market.

In sum, choosing the career based on the qualities and inner talent is the right way to choose the career and adhering to it in our professional life is necessary rather that depending on the contemporary demands of the market that would certainly be changing in the coming years.