Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

College students are usually confounded in the beginning about the career they choose to pursue. It takes days, months and year for some students to decide their field of study. The prompt describes two antithetical views of people regarding the path that a high school student must take. I strongly agree with the opinion that focuses the talent and interest of the student while selecting the branch of study in two ways.

Firstly, jobs are ever-changing. There cannot be a particular area which always be at the top for a long period of time. This is all due to the development and change in interest of the people and the condition at that time. For example, during 1960, nuclear engineering was at it suffice. Almost all of the developed as well as some developing countries had a great interest in development of nuclear plants both for energy purposes and for manufacturing of large-scale weapons. During that time, the demand of people having knowledge on nuclear science was excessively high. By 1990 due to several debacles like, explosion of plants in Iran, decreased the viability of nuclear program. A student who had pursued field related to nuclear plant in around 1985 due to the availability of jobs was certainly hampered in later years. So, jobs are capricious and choosing the field of study based on job can become completely be absurd after some time.

Secondly, not all people have the desire to earn more money and, have a debonair lifestyle. Some individual just want innovation in their desired sector and finding of new process as well as upgrading present elements. People become happy only if they are given the environment that they truly want. For example, a well-paid computer engineer who had interest in photography can never be satisfied even if he has better social status. He may think about photos of different natural sites and the new techniques he could use if he was working in his interested field. The person might work as per his requirement in the current office but can never do a piece of work from his heart. In these cases, that high paying job, sophisticated lifestyle is all of less importance to the person.

However, some may argue that in this competitive world the base of the person should match with the requirement of the working space. But, is it not the case we are taking about? If a person is interested in a path, them he will work hard with complete dedication to get selected and succeed in his career. In conclusion, due to these unpredictable change in the nature of job and also for achievement of satisfaction and happiness one must pursue his field of study based on his interest and talent not on the condition of outer world.