According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument concludes that other educational institutions must impkement honor codes analogous to Groveton's to wane the cheating among students. He comes to this conslusion based on the survey of students as well as the decrease in number of comlplaints from the students. The author's assertion might be true, but following three questions must be answered in order to determine the credibility of the argument.

First of all, are all cheating suspects are complained by other students when they see or hear about it? It is possible that some students even they see such deceitful activity just ignore it and proceed to do their own work rather than be a part of tedoius activity of complaining others as well as be present in the process of judgement. Also, some students might not take the case of mendacity to their teachers because the felon is their close friend and they donot want further trouble for him. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the conclusion of the argument is considerably hindered.

Secondly, is the survey conducted by the Groveton college accurate and veritable? Perhaps the students who participated in the survey might have given false opinion that honor code have made them more focussed to work assidiously just in flatery way to show their respect for their college. Moreover, it might also be possible that only rarefied students were questioned who donot involve in mendacity with or without having honor codes. Students who regularly involve in deceiving might not be included advertently by the college administration to promote the good environment of the college. If any of these cases are true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, is the implementation of honor codes a pivotal facot for decline of cheating activities? It is possible that rarefied students were admitted in large numbers in rescent years then malingers so that students have performed their activity of doing their assignments, projects, seminars dilligently. Further, not the honor code itself but the close monitor of teachers for their students be a crucial factor for lowering the cheating activity by the students beacuse they had greater chance of getting caught when they cheat. If any of these conditons are actual, then the persuasiveness of the argument is lowered.

Thus, in conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is significantly flawed due to its reliance o unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide answers to these questions (perhaps basd on systematic study approach), then the viability of the argument can be fully determined.