Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Modern schooling is becoming more and more difficult because diversity of societies. Students have to learn as many subjects, gain as much knowledge, and practicing regarding problems from many aspects as possible. While they are still seated in school, loving it or not, they get involved in a grade competition to earn prize and exalt from educators. Despite many bright sides of this high-grade competition to encourage students to excel in class, it endangers some issues in learning systems.

Firstly, it cannot be denied that competition for high grades is a great method to boost students’ performance in class. Higher grades equal higher rank, more mellifluous compliment, greater esteem, and expensive rewards. Who would not love the prize? It is a tempting reward for students, so they are willingly participating in the race of grades. To compete, they must listen to the lecture carefully, discuss the lesson actively, finish homework on time, and study hard for the exam. They are able to boost their score because of the forthcoming motivation parents and teachers have set. In fact, they could improve their grades profusely competing in the race, which is a terrific effect of the competition.

Furthermore, competition becomes mandatory in life, which should be prepared early at a time of school. Competition provokes ambition between classmates, so they could learn from each other’s strengths and weaknesses. It also reveals limitless boundaries that circumscribe a student, pushes them forward. For example, a retiring, timid student can transmute into an active, energetic public speaker after competing with a group in the contest only for high grades. Grade competition, in fact, promotes and realizes students’ covered potentials.

On the other hand, focusing only on high grades brings about unwanted effects. Schooling purposes is to elicit students’ potential and talent, train them more useful skills for future career, and give rise to compassion that is hidden inside them, whereas high score simply demonstrates the ability to study and adapt to school environment. The competition qualifies teaching student manners: they could get aggressive, depressed, antisocial, and hateful towards each other during the grade racing. It is common to witness young boys and girls too busy getting their nose in books that they lack social skills seriously. They hardly make friends, or communicate with their classmates, or join in school clubs because they are worried about scoring in class. That is why we should be alert of those insidious influences of the competition, so that we could stem it preemptively.

In conclusion, competition for high grades is a good method to encourage students’ performance in school, but it should be regarded only as one in many methods, and definitely not the final purpose of education.