Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the preceding excerpt, the author maintains several reasons to support the argument of why the Nature’s Way firm should expand their franchise to Plainsville. Subsequently, the reasonings are orderly enlisted to advocate that the healthy-food firm would make big profit settling down at the given town because of how healthy lifestyle of the local residence. However, this argument developed on a numerous conspicuous assumption that make it hardly justified.

First of all, by illustrating how the success of the food chain firm would be based on the healthy consumer habit of the people in town, the author puts forth the idea that the firm could sell well in such a place where people are investing in their physical fitness. In order to prove this claim’s credibility, the author should offer endorsing evidence and statistic proof that people enjoy healthy living would be stalwart customers to the firm. Even though this could be a scenario, people may use other brand’s products or simply consume home-made food, which will, in fact, drop the firm’s sales rather than increasing it. Hence, the author needs a more persuasive proof to show a strong correlation between the local residence lifestyle and the firm’s product sale.

Considering the correlation between high sales and the people’s healthy manner of living is warranted, there are also loopholes in the author’s reasoning. High sales in running shoes and exercise clothing could, on one hand, prove a healthy style of living. On the other hand, the author does not consider other likely circumstances, for example, where high merchandise sales are used for retails. It could be possible that Plainsville is a popular trading area that promotes flourishing market, which makes running shoes and gymnastic clothing sales always high and later exported to nearby areas. In this case, healthy lifestyle is not certain to guarantee the best profit for Nature’s Way firm in the future.

Similarly, elaborating on full attendance and high-demand membership of local health club and classes, the author asserts that town residents are leading an exemplary way of fitting living, which matches the Nature’s Way firm’s products and would raise their income. While people’s health conscious could be a way of interpreted, it is also merely an assumption. Popularity in local health club and classes may be owning to their paucity of fitness center branches in the village, leading to the fact that people have no different options to exercise, and must all sign up in one club and dense classes. Accordingly, the reasoning that the firm will make big profit because health club and gym classes are crowdedly signed up for is unsustainable.

Another assumption in the author’s argument is about the new generation who could be the firm’s potential customers. Building on the reason that these schoolchildren are taught fitness-for-life program and encouraged exercise frequently, the author affirms that they live under an emphasis of how important a healthy life is, that proves in accordance with the Nature’s Way firm’s product commerce. Had every child followed this way of life in the future, the argument would be plausible. Nevertheless, there is no affirmative proof that they will remain interested in frequent work-out throughout their lives. Hence, the claim ends up untenable being founded on this assumption.

In short, the judgment about whether the Nature’s Way firm sale will be promising remains questionable due to specious assumptions on the local target customer’s living habit. Further proof should be presented to render a more convincing and genial argument.